Studio Thomas – Iquitos, Peru

February 1, 2012

I lucked out. I managed to rent the exact same apartment I had last year in Iquitos. It’s nothing special, but I like the light from the window. Here’s a shot of my very basic “studio”:

My living room in Iquitos

Some of my favorite images from last year were taken in this very spot. I remember at the time feeling guilty for not getting out more (although I did a lot of that too). It seemed impossible that I could make great photos just within the confines of my apartment, especially in such a fascinating city. However, after nine months of ruminating on my work from last year, I decided these portraits are really the core of the project and I could stand to have a few more.

Here’s one from last year, to give you an idea:

Roger

Leave a Reply

