Gian Paolo Minelli – Playas

September 30, 2011

Gian Paolo Minelli’s series “Playas,” depicts empty parking lots in downtown Buenos Aires. More specifically, it depicts the canvas netting that provides shade and protects cars from the occasional hail storm.

© Gian Paolo Minelli from the series "Playas"

When I first saw the series a couple of years ago, I thought the subject matter was cheesy and obvious. Actually, I still feel that way. What’s changed is that now, really looking at the series again, I realize the photos are subtle and finely composed shots of light, pattern and shadow. I think in the end all subjects are cliche at some level. Execution matters most. Here are more jpegs from Minelli’s site. You’ll have to trust me when I say that the 1 meter-sized prints look marvelous.

© Gian Paolo Minelli from the series "Playas"

© Gian Paolo Minelli from the series "Playas"

© Gian Paolo Minelli from the series "Playas"

© Gian Paolo Minelli from the series "Playas"

© Gian Paolo Minelli from the series "Playas"

Previously I wrote about Minelli’s work on Villa Lugano, which I really, really like. Also, I was reminded of Fernando Di Sisto’s work which I recently wrote about.

Leave a Reply

