Flickr Finds: Andre Dos Santos

February 13, 2011

Barrio La Castellana © Andre Dos Santos

Bus terminal in Tunja © Andre Dos Santos

Barrio La Castellana © Andre Dos Santos

I search for images a lot on flickr. Sometimes I’m scouting out locations, other times it’s simply a winograndian desire to see my world photographed. The images above are by Andre Dos Santos. I found them while doing a search on the terms “Bogota Medium Format” or perhaps it was “Bogota Formato Medio.” It’s not that I’m philosophically against digital [although my emotional biases skew towards the analogical], rather, it’s that there’s a whole lot of uninteresting crap on flickr. Delimiting the search by format and film type is a good proxy for finding photographers whose interests coincide with my own.

I liked Dos Santos’ images of the Bogota neighborhood of La Castellana. I’m basically interested in residential architecture anywhere and Bogota is no exception. The color palette, the design of the houses, the small details like the decorative window bars and other design flourishes are a source of endless fascination.

Leave a Reply

