Fuji 1998

February 11, 2011

Fuji Super HGV, expired 1998

I’ve shot all the rolls of film I brought with me to Colombia. I visited five different photo stores and none had any medium format, color negative film. They all said it was on order. The gentleman at the aptly named lab, El Poder Fotografico, apparently the last serious lab in Bogota for developing film, has this bootleg supply of supremely expired Fuji Super HGV which he offered to sell me. He swears the colors haven’t shifted that much.

If this film were a person, he could be tried as an adult in Texas. It expired in July of 1998. I remember that summer well. I had an internship at a long gone internet company in Mountain View, CA. On weekends I’d drive up to the Castro the dance the night away at The Cafe. The big hit that summer was Ultra Nate’s hi-NRG anthem, “Free”. My friends joked that in 50 years we’d be in a gay retirement home dancing to this song with our walkers on bingo night.

Anyway, I bought a couple of rolls. It’s that or shoot 35mm [[shudder!!!]].

One Response to “Fuji 1998”

  1. David Says:

    Man, this prose is solid gold: “If this film were a person, he could be tried as an adult in Texas. It expired in July of 1998. I remember that summer well. I had an internship at a long gone internet company…”. I guess that Proust’s madeleine had also expired 13 years before and that all his vivid memories were the product of food poisoning.

    PS-Don’t dip the film in the tea 😉


Leave a Reply

