Just like Don Ramón

August 20, 2010

For a lot of people the idea of a photo shoot conjures up images of flashing softboxes, make-up artists, assistants, thumping techno music, and a David Bailey style photographer. In trying to explain what I do to potential subjects, most of whom have never seen a view camera, I often find myself referencing the enormously popular, 1970s Mexican childrens’ show El Chavo del 8. On the show, Don Ramon, one of the characters, is occasionally seen clumsily operating an old view camera. I tell people, I’m just like Don Ramon.

Here’s a video clip. Between the Mexican slang and the horrible audio quality, I end up having an easier time understanding the show when it’s dubbed in Portuguese.

Here’s me:

Leave a Reply

