Joachim Schmid – Praça Rui Barbosa

August 13, 2010

Joachim Schmid - Praça Rui Barbosa

It might have been 2003 or 2004. I was perusing an art bookstore in Chelsea and I came across this book of portraits. They were ID photos taken in Belo Horizonte, Brazil, and printed by the artist who gathered the discarded negatives from the plaza where the photographers worked. I didn’t buy the book nor write down the artists name. The project didn’t seem that significant in the moment but it stuck with me over time. Unfortunately I could never remember who it was by.

I was very happy to rediscover the project on the web. It’s by Joachim Schmid and the title is Praça Rui Barbosa. Schmid writes:

After the photographs are taken they run to the nearest lab to get the strip of film developed and printed. The clients pick up their portraits about half an hour after they were taken. Negatives are still discarded. During my stay in Belo Horizonte I got up very early every morning before the street cleaners start to work, walked to the square and collected all the negatives I found.

Leave a Reply

