Pablo Lopez – Mexico City

March 19, 2010

I’m back in Buenos Aires but before I return to South America on this blog, I’d like to linger a bit on the way with these photos of Mexico City by Pablo Lopez:

I feel a bit like I’m stalking Sr. Lopez. The day before returning to Argentina I stoped by Rose Gallery in Santa Monica, CA to see if they had any exhibition catalogs from his show there that I could buy. Although they were sold out, the helpful staff showed me a thick stack of his work prints, which was a real pleasure. And just yeseterday, I went to see the exhibit Laberinto de Miradas at the Casa de Cultura, a traveling show, funding by the Spanish government, of Latin American documentary photography. The show’s banner features a child pointing a gun, so I didn’t have a lot of hope for the show but there was a lot of interesting work, including six more photos by Lopez from his Mexico City series.

The aerial photos are amazing, of course, but I think I like the ones on the ground even more. Lopez has a talent for scouting perspectives. The text accompanying the photos mention that the photos take their inspiration from 19th century Mexican landscape painters. I recalled having seen some of those paintings at the Museo Nacional de Arte [MUNAL] in Mexico City. Unfortunately museum’s website doesn’t actually feature any of museum’s art, which is a shame because the paintings are lovely; aerial views of Mexico City when it was a small city and views of Popo and Itza before they became forever obscured by smog. I love that Lopez is taking up this tradition and updating it. I feel like these kinds of works get lost in the sweep of Mexican art, from Aztec calendars to Frida’s mono-brow.

Update June 2010: the online magazine Nuestra Mirada published a series of [big] Lopez’ photographs including some new ones.

Leave a Reply

